Overall management of VAMAS is through a Steering Committee (SC) with up to three representatives from each of the members. The Chair and Secretariat of VAMAS alternates on a three-year cycle between the USA and the UK.

The current VAMAS Chair is Dr. Richard Cavanagh, Deputy Director, Materials Measurement Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA. The present Secretary is Dr. Steve Freiman.

The pre-standards research activities of VAMAS are organized into technical committees called Technical Working Areas (TWA), which are overseen by the SC and led by International Chairs. The SC is responsible for policy, programme planning, approval of new TWAs and projects, appointment of TWA Chairs and monitoring the progress of the TWAs. Management of the research activities is vested in the Chairs and Project Leaders within the TWAs. Each TWA has SC Coordinators who represent and provide liaison to the SC.

Potential participants in existing TWAs and those with an interest in the output of the TWAs should contact the relevant TWA Chair.

See also

  • Formation and objectives
  • Technical Working Areas